Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 16th, 2015

by Tom Nelson

OS X has supported system-wide text substitution capabilities since OS X Snow Leopard. Text substitution lets you create text shortcuts for words and phrases you use frequently. Once you type a text shortcut, it will automatically expand to its associated phrase. This works in any application, hence the “system-wide” name; it’s not limited to word processors. Text substitution will work in any app that uses OS X’s text manipulation APIs (Application Programing Interface).

TextSubstitution

Screen shot © Coyote Moon, Inc.

Text substitution is also a handy tool for words you frequently mistype. For instance, I tend to type ‘teh’ when I mean to type ‘the.’ My word processor is smart enough to correct that typing error for me, but other applications are perfectly happy to let me look silly, with ‘teh’ written all over the place.

Read more on About: Macs.

Read Full Post »