Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 21st, 2015

by Tom Nelson

Resume, first introduced in OS X Lion, is meant to be a handy method to quickly return you to what you were doing in an application the last time you used it.

Resume can be very useful; it can also be one of the most annoying of OS X’s new features. Apple needs to provide an easy-to-use interface to manage how Resume works with individual applications, as well as the overall system. Until that happens, this tip will give you some control over Resume.

Resume

Screen shot © Coyote Moon, Inc.

What’s to Like About Resume

Resume will save the state of any application windows that were open when you quit an application, as well as any data you were working with in the application. Say it’s lunchtime, and you quit your word processor and the report you were working on. When you return from lunch and fire up the word processor, you’ll be right back where you left off, with the document loaded and all of the application’s windows in the same places.

Pretty cool, right?

What’s Not to Like About Resume

What if before you leave for lunch, you’re working on a document that you don’t want anyone else to see; perhaps your letter of resignation, an updated resumé, or your will. What if your boss stops by your office right after lunch, and asks you to show him the proposal you’ve been working on for a new client. You launch your word processor, and thanks to Resume, there’s your letter of resignation, in all its glory.

Not so cool, right?

Read more on About: Macs.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »