Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 19th, 2016

by Tom Nelson

In June of 2014, I decided to do a bit of a change-up to my usual weekly Mac software pick. At the time, Apple had just officially acknowledged that Aperture would finish active development, and that iPhoto would be replaced with a new Photos app. It seemed like a good idea to use my weekly software picks column to provide some insight into photo management applications that might be good candidates to replace Aperture or iPhoto.

EmulsionIcon

Screen shot © Coyote Moon, Inc.

While pieces of Photos were shown at WWDC, the actual product seemed a bit nebulous, with a great deal of work to be done before it was ready for release.

That was then; this is now. Over time, this software pick has morphed into a repository for photo management apps for the Mac. I’ll continue to add photo-related apps to this collection, which will take it well past the 5 Photo Management Apps seen in the original title. To be included, an app must have some management function to help you keep track of your images; it can’t be just a photo editor.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

by Tom Nelson

Time Machine is an easy-to-use backup system with a nice collection of features that make it the go-to backup system for most Mac users. But like all backup applications, Time Machine is subject to errors and problems that can creep in and cause you to worry about your backups.

TimeMachineIcon128x128

Image courtesy of Apple

One of the common problems you may come across is Time Machine being unable to access the backup disk. The error message is usually:

“The backup volume is read only”

The good news is that your backup files are probably all in good working order and no backup data has been lost. The bad news is that you can’t back up any new data to your Time Machine drive until you get this problem fixed.

The cause of the error message depends on a few factors, but in all cases, your Mac thinks the drive has had its permissions changed to be read only. But don’t head off and try to reset the permissions because it won’t do you any good. Instead, follow these simple steps.

Read more on About: Macs.

Read Full Post »